Talk Project Management  /  Agile PMI-ACP Series , Topic Series  /  What are the PMI-ACP Eligibility Requirements

PMI-ACP® Exam Eligibility

PMI-ACP® certification by Prothoughts is not only meant for Project Managers, Agile Trainers, and Scrum Masters but for those who have been achieving Agile Advantages and Principles in the day to day project activity having in a way, the industry needs.

For PMI-ACP® Exam Eligibility Qualifications, you need two types of experiences:

General Project Experience:

For general project experience, you required to have 2000 hours (i.e., One year) experience operating on project organizations. All must have accumulated within the last five following years before your form submission. In case you are PMP® accredited, you are already meeting the extensive project experience, and PMI® will not confirm it again. Now, the most significant point here to note is that General Project experience does not mean that you need to have expertise in managing & guiding the project. It means that even if you are a member of the project team willing to any (like Development, testing, QA, UI design, database tuning, etc.) of its ventures for a year, you satisfy the needed experience.

Agile Project Experience:

You must expect to have 1500 hours (i.e., eight months) of practice operating on agile projects. It is an experience with serving in a team that is using acute. Agile project experience requires to note of general project experience. Note: In case you are holding a total of 3500+ hours of practice in agile methodologies in the last 3 three years, you can consider the same projects both in Agile Project Experience and General Project Experience. The basic idea is that in the past three years, you need to have at least a total of 3500 hours of practice, including at least 1500 hours in agile experience.

Now, the critical question here is, what do you know by agile here? Is it the Scrum Master or the customized agile will also serve?

Let’s solve the puzzle; PMI ® does not discuss the particular agile framework, which stipulates the standards for 1500 hours of agile experience. It says that an individual should have practice working in an organization that includes agile values, programs, and tools in the process.

PMI-ACP® Exam covers seven domains. Each domain includes tasks in agile values, programs, and practices. PMI-ACP® exam requires that you are in a company that is practicing in Agile Values and Policies. Also, collaboration within the company is one of the prime focus in Agile Values and Policies; thus, if your organization is doing at least two responsibilities in each domain, you are eligible for the PMI-ACP® Examination.

What happens if my eligibility expires and I have not taken the exam?

Your application is valid for one (1) year from the date of approval. If you allow your eligibility to lapse, you must re-apply.

Further Reading:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *